About Us

The Carlow Kilkenny Skillnet was established in January 1999 by a number of Senior Managers in organisations in the Carlow Kilkenny area. Initial discussions showed that the organisations shared common training problems, namely; 

  • Access to information on courses/training, and new technologies available for training purposes.
  • Sourcing training programmes.
  • Finding courses that were relevant to the specific needs of each organisation.
  • The location of available courses.

By working together, these organisations have developed new, low-cost, customised, and locally-based training solutions for their management and staff.
All of the training courses we provide are open to any organisation within the Carlow and Kilkenny region, so if you are interested in any of the programmes listed on our website or you are looking for a specific training program that is applicable to your organisation, we would be delighted to hear from you.


The objectives of Carlow Kilkenny Skillnet are:

  • To develop training and development strategies that would:
  • Be delivered locally to reduce cost
  • Be appropriate to the business need of the member organisations
  • Develop innovative and creative training and development instruments and strategies
  • Provide networking opportunities and interaction with other organisations
  • To develop flexible and effective methods of delivering training
  • To examine innovative methods of promoting training
  • To support value-added training initiatives

Skillnet Ireland

Skillnet Ireland are a group of approved training networks, consisting of groups of companies working together at the strategic level to establish industry standards, sectoral competencies, and certification processes.

Skillnet Ireland is an industry-led body established to promote and support training in enterprises. Skillnet Ireland was established in 1999 to provide a structure within which the Training Networks Programme would operate.

The Board of the company is comprised of seven business/employer representatives (IBEC, SFA, CCI, CIF), three employee representatives (ICTU), and three representatives nominated by the Minister of Education and Skills.